For news and information about Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, its partner organizations, other national heritage areas and updates from the National Park Service visit the News Releases page.

Submit news releases by e-mail to

Fast Facts

41 counties in Eastern Kansas and Western Missouri, USA
Area: 31,021 square miles, approximately the size of South Carolina
Population: 2,883,526 (2017 estimate)
Established: October 12, 2006

Counties involved:
– Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte.

  Missouri – Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon.

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel