Freedom’s Frontier distributes comprehensive map

News for Immediate Release


For more information, contact: Judy Billings, (785) 856-5300, info@freedomsfrontier.org

Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area observes the fifth anniversary of its designation by distributing a new, comprehensive heritage map. In October 2006, Congress authorized, and the President signed into law, an act that created Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA). The heritage area’s latest successes include:

• the brochure map
• a battlefield preservation grant
• a staff addition
• redesign of www.freedomsfrontier.org


FFHNA and its partners produced the map with support from the William T. Kemper Foundation. The map shows the 41 counties – 29 in eastern Kansas and 12 in Western Missouri – of the heritage area. Partner organizations and tourism visitor centers are distributing the maps. E-mail information@freedomsfrontier.org to learn how to get a map, or how your organization can help distribute them.

FFNHA received a $55,000 grant from the National Park Service’s American Battlefield Protection Program (ABPP). The grant creates a plan to preserve and acquire land at Lone Jack Civil War Battlefield in Missouri. The battle there typified the national conflict. It also represents the losses and terror civilians in Missouri and Kansas border counties endured from the start of the Border War in 1854 through the war years.

Sonia Smith joined the staff at the FFNHA office in Lawrence, Kansas, in August. As the Finance and Development Assistant she will work with grant programs, including a new grant to support interpretive programs and capacity building for partners. Smith has a master’s degree in journalism and marketing communications from the University of Kansas.

The redesigned Web site lets heritage area partners tell the significant stories of Freedom’s Frontier. The site offers visitors an interactive experience and a chance to contribute to the heritage area’s story.

Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. We achieve our goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation and education for all residents and visitors.

The Santa Fe, Oregon, California and Mormon trails all ran through the heritage area. As early settlers in territorial Missouri and Kansas clashed over slavery and abolition, the Border Wars were a precursor to the Civil War. A century after that war’s end, the area was in the forefront of the Civil Rights movement, when the landmark Brown v. the Board of Education ended segregated public schools. Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area recognizes and preserves these and other unique stories of the role its people played in national history.

A seven-year, grassroots effort by local citizens representing museums, historical societies, libraries and other public and private organizations resulted in the national heritage area designation for FFNHA. The next step was to create a management plan. In 2010, the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior approved the plan. Recent accomplishments build on that plan, and increase awareness of the heritage area.


Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area Fast Facts

Location: 41 counties in Eastern Kansas and Western Missouri, USA
Area: 31,021 square miles, approximately the size of South Carolina
Population: 2,811,295 (2007 estimate)
Established: October 12, 2006

Counties involved: Kansas – Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte.

Missouri – Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel