FFNHA Board of Trustees to meet at Riley County Historical Museum

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area News Release

December 5, 2013

Contact: Sonia Smith, Community Development/Outreach Specialist – ssmith@freedomsfrontier.org
(785) 856-5304

Riley County Historical Museum hosts Freedom’s Frontier Board of Trustees quarterly meeting

Riley County Historical Museum, a partner of Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area (FFNHA), will host the National Park Service-affiliated organization’s quarterly Board of Trustees meeting 2-4 p.m., Tuesday, December 11, at the museum, 2309 Claflin Rd, Manhattan, KS. Meetings are open to the public.

Following the meeting, FFNHA Advisory Committee member and Riley County Historical Museum Director Cheryl Collins will provide a tour of the museum and Goodnow House for FFNHA staff and board members.
Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area is dedicated to building awareness of the struggles for freedom in western Missouri and eastern Kansas. These diverse, interwoven and nationally important stories grew from a unique physical and cultural landscape. FFNHA inspires respect for multiple perspectives and empowers residents to preserve and share these stories. Freedom’s Frontier achieves these goals through interpretation, preservation, conservation and education for all residents and visitors.

The Santa Fe, Oregon, California and Mormon trails all ran through the heritage area. As early settlers in territorial Missouri and Kansas clashed over slavery and abolition, the Border Wars were a precursor to the Civil War. A century after that war’s end, the area was in the forefront of the Civil Rights movement, when the landmark Brown v. the Board of Education ended segregated public schools. Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area recognizes and preserves these and other unique stories of the role its people played in national history.

A seven-year, grassroots effort by local citizens representing museums, historical societies, libraries and other public and private organizations resulted in the national heritage area designation for FFNHA. On October 12, 2006, then President George W. Bush signed the legislation that created the heritage area, comprised of 29 counties in eastern Kansas and 12 counties in western Missouri. The next step was to create a management plan. In 2010, the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior approved the plan. Current workplans build on the management plan, and increase awareness of the heritage area.

Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area Fast Facts 

Location: 41 counties in Eastern Kansas and Western Missouri 
Area: 31,021 square miles, approximately the size of South Carolina
Population: 2,811,295 (2007 estimate)
Established: October 12, 2006
Counties involved:
Kansas – Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte
Missouri – Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon

National Park ServiceVisit MissouriKansas Department of CommerceSEK
Web Development by Imagemakers Inc.
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Yes    Cancel